top of page

MacKewn named OVC Outstanding Faculty member from UT Martin

MARTIN, Tenn. – Dr. Angie MacKewn, a University of Tennessee at Martin professor of psychology, was named to the Ohio Valley Conference Outstanding Faculty Commitment to Student Success Award during the OVC Basketball Championships March 6-9 at the Ford Center in Evansville, Indiana.

“I’m so humbled,” MacKewn said of the OVC award. “This is an amazing university and so many phenomenal faculty members who are doing so many amazing things that I’ve just absolutely been humbled to even be nominated.”

Dr. Angie MacKewn poses with her 2024 Ohio Valley Conference Outstanding Faculty Commitment to Student Success Award with Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Philip Acree Cavalier in front of the Blaylock Inspiration Oracle on the campus of UT Martin.

MacKewn has taught at UT Martin since 2003. She received her Ph.D. from York University in Canada, her master of arts degree from the University of Central Oklahoma and her bachelor of arts degree from Laurentian University in Canada.

MacKewn is the second UT Martin faculty member to receive the honor. Dr. Mahmoud Haddad, a professor of finance, earned the inaugural award for UT Martin last year.

The OVC's Outstanding Faculty Commitment to Student Success Award began in March 2023. 

The awards were created by the provosts from each OVC member institution to recognize outstanding faculty at each OVC school.

Each OVC member institution had the opportunity to nominate a faculty member with the rank of associate or full-time professor who has been employed at the institution for at least five years.

The criteria included impacts of students, contributions made to the department, university and curriculum development, consistent professional development as well as community involvement and institutional service.

Other 2024 award winners from across the Ohio Valley Conference included Dr. Joe Felan, University of Arkansas at Little Rock; Dr. Ashley Gard, Eastern Illinois University; Dr. Ricardo Delgado, Lindenwood University; Dr. Steve Chen, Morehead State University; Dr. Adam Criblez, Southeast Missouri State University; Dr. Lindsay Ross-Stewart, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville; Dr. Joshua N. Wildeman, University of Southern Indiana; Dr. Jason Smith, Tennessee State University; Dr. Susan G. Wells, Tennessee Technological University; and Janice Gates, Western Illinois University.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page