top of page

Trevor Bauer and Shane Bieber Announced as 2020 Cy Young Winners

The winners of the Cy Young award were announced yesterday by the MLB. This award is given to the best pitcher from their respective league.

Photo Credits to Todd Kirkland/Getty Images

In the National League, it was Cincinnati Reds Ace, Trevor Bauer. Bauer posted a 1-point-seven-three ERA and struck out 100 batters on the season. He finished with a record of five wins and four losses; adding onto that, Bauer lead the NL in shutouts with two. The 29-year-old became the first Reds pitcher to win the award. The one-time all-star will enter free agency this offseason, and he will certainly be the top-target of multiple contending teams.

Photo Credits to Tony Dejak/Associated Press

In the American League it was a unanimous vote to decide the winner. Shane Bieber of the Cleveland Indians won his first Cy Young award after a dominant season. Bieber won the triple crown by leading the league in ERA with 1.63; strikeouts with 122; and wins with eight. He is the first unanimous winner since Justin Verlander in 2011. Bieber will be in Cleveland for a while as he won't become a free agent until 2025.

8 views0 comments


bottom of page